Shockey To The Saints!

What Took So Long?

Approximately six days ago, on July 21st, 2008, Jeremy Shockey’s career as a Giant ended. We could have seen this coming months ago when he injured his knee and was done for the Season. And no, that’s not because the Team abandoned an injured vet, it was because he slowly became a distraction leading up to and even after the Super Bowl. Shocking, because just a few years ago many thought he’d be a Giant for life, drafted and retired by them.

The trade breaks down like this:

The Giants will get second- and fifth-round picks in the 2009 draft in exchange for sending Shockey to the team he wanted to play for most. The trade must be approved by the league and is contingent on Shockey passing a physical.

[…]The Giants also unload the remainder of a five-year, $31.2 million contract extension that Shockey signed in 2005. (The Associated Press via NFL Network News)

This follows the recent division-rival Washington Redskins’ trade for Jason Taylor from the Dolphins for 2009 second and 2010 sixth round picks. It also follows months of speculation of not where, but when Shockey would be traded from the Giants.

Most would think that Kevin Boss’ emergence late in the Season, and his continued great play in the playoffs may have done in Shockey. I think that his continued complaining over the past couple of seasons grew to become a bigger and bigger distraction. From publicly criticizing his Coach, to criticizing fans, each year it was something new with Shockey.

With Tiki’s departure last Season and Strahan’s this Season, the Giants probably felt it was finally time to cut out some of the distractions (especially without anymore longtime vets left holding down the locker room). This was now Eli’s Team, and Giants’ management probably felt they didn’t want any bad influences to sidetrack Eli’s growth. This was now a Championship Team again, and Giants’ fanbase probably felt he wasn’t fitting for a winning-caliber Team anymore. Sounds harsh, especially for a guy who was the 2002 Rookie of the Year; a guy who had 371 catches for 4,228 yards and 27 touchdowns while with the Giants; a guy who was among the top receiving threats at Tight-End. Maybe that was the problem, the Giants’ no longer needed that type of production at that position. The Giants’ no longer needed offense there, they had quality Wide-Receivers, what they needed was defense and most around the NFL knew that Shockey wasn’t exactly a juggernaut in that area.

There was a Team that needed Shockey’s ability more so than most, and that’s what added the fuel to the Shockey departure rumors. On Draft night 2008, the Saints and Giants almost completed a trade for the Saints’ high second-rounder, but the Giants wanted more. I think the Giants thought they could have probably winged-it. But, once the last voice of reason from the old-regime (Strahan) retired, there was no longer a barrier there to contain any distractions, regardless of who they were from. This is why I think the Giants pulled the trigger now, and not on Draft Night. Yes another pick was the difference between the situations, but the Saints’ second-rounder on Draft Night was guaranteed to be high, who’s to say it remains that way in next year’s Draft.

Now don’t get me wrong, I loved having Shockey on this Team. I loved having his energy and fire on the sidelines. I loved his great catches at a position where you wouldn’t really expect it. I loved the fact that he was the Giants, he epitomized what it meant to be a Giant. He was the hard worker, the blue-collar-worker. He became a New Yorker. He connected with us. But, maybe it was best for all to move on. The time had come, and a changing of the guard had happened. But, he’ll still be missed.

Here’s looking at you…

~ by drcorner on July 27, 2008.

8 Responses to “Shockey To The Saints!”

  1. Go Seahawks! :>

  2. Sorry, I couldn’t help myself :> I really like football in general, but I’m partial..okay?

  3. Lol, you don’t have to apologize…I can’t wait for the Season to get underway too (also a huge football fan).

    Should be an interesting year for you guys now that Alexander is gone.

    Oh, and we (the Giants) will just beat you guys like we normally do on our way to another ring. πŸ˜›

  4. very funny…..but probably true. :>) So long as we don’t lose to the Rams..I can cope. lol

  5. Lol, I doubt you guys will lose to Rams…they had a heck of a draft, but Alexander really slow you guys down with his injuries. Your younger guys should be able to step and and provide a quicker Offense.

    My Giants a looking shaky going into the Season with injuries and Depth issues on the D’ … 😦

  6. So today is opening of football season and I am so frustrated that we ( the Seahawks ) are starting out in such an injured weak state? Today the game with Buffalo was just so terrible to watch, I had to go outside ( it wasn’t raining ) and garden instead! It was an early morning game for us, but I wished I had just slept in! LOL Don’t get me wrong I love my team, but this was a brutal experience. I can’t remember how many times I’ve seen a fake out field goal..am I out of touch or what? Sorry to be asking, but I’m a girl okay?!! Good for Buffalo! They really did a good job.

  7. lol, I know the feeling. Just remember that you guys are rebuilding. All it takes is 1 or 2 good draft picks, and 1-2 good trades and you’ll be right back on top of the NFC West.

    Speaking of injuries, my Giants played Kiwa’ until the end of the game, when we were up by a TD and it was HIGHLY unlikely the Redskins would score again, and he got hurt. 😦

    This is going to put another big blow on our secondary…

  8. Ugh! We just lost Justin Forsett to the Colts? So tell me what are we gonna do without a running back? And you think the Giants are starting out shaky, wow, look at the Hawks. I can’t believe Nate Burleson is out for the season,one of our good veterans!

    I can’t put much time into going to the games, but I do have my Hawks/Rams game tickets, a group of about 20 of us are all going together, some even fly in from LA, and of course we like to raz the guys/gals from LA, there is a bit of a rivalry between us, it’s a hold over from the days when the Rams were the LA Rams.

Leave a Reply

 
